Top 10 Smallest Countries On Earth

10. Malta, 316 square kilometers

Malta is an archipelago of seven Islands located in the Mediterranean sea. This small country only has an area of 316 square kilometers. Only three Islands named Malta, Gozo and Comino are inhabited in this archipelago.



These three Islands are also the largest Islands in Malta. The country has a population of 4,46,547, make it one of the densely populated countries in the world.

The country has great historical and cultural significance. It is one of the most remarkable prehistoric sites in the world. The ‘hypogeum’, a 5000 year old underground structure located in Paola town of Malta represents this fact. There are also seven prehistoric temples in Malta, dated back to 3600 B.C- 700 B.C.A number of civilizations including the Phoenicians, Romans, Sicilians, French and British have ruled Malta in different period of time.

Malta gained independence in 1964. English and Maltese are the main languages of this country. Today tourism is one of the main sources of income for Malta. The prehistoric monuments and beautiful beaches of Malta attracts about one million tourists every year.